top of page

Dembele: Yes I wanted to stay at Barcelona but the PSG project changed my mind!


Paris Saint-Germain's Ousmane Dembele admitted his initial plan was to stay with Barcelona, but a conversation between him and French club officials caused him to decide that a move to the Parc des Princes would be the best option for his career.


The France international renewed his contract with Barcelona in 2022, and after an outstanding performance with Xavi Hernandez's men last seasin, everything was moving towards him continuing with the Blaugrana normally this season.


At the beginning of last summer, Dembele announced that he intended to stay with Barcelona, but on August 12 he ended up at Paris Saint-Germain for €50 million.

The former Borussia Dortmund player spoke to L'Equipe about the backstage of the move to PSG, saying: "Yes, I said I wanted to stay with Barcelona and I was planning for it."


"But after contacting PSG, I thought it was better for me to move to them."


"Mbappe didn't play a role in my move to Paris, I'm here because I love the club, I grew up in Évreux and it's not far from Paris and everyone talks there about Paris Saint-Germain."


"I also liked other things besides Paris is a French club, such as the project, the coach and the management, so I decided to move to them."


So far, the 26-year-old has not managed to score a goal for Paris Saint-Germain, and has only 3 assists in 13 games in all competitions.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page