top of page

Griezmann responds to the Saudi League's interest: I want to become an Atletico Madrid legend


Antoine Griezmann, Atletico Madrid player

Antoine Griezmann closed the door on his departure from Atletico Madrid next summer, after confirming that he wants to become one of the Rojiblancos legends and does not intend to leave the Wanda Metropolitano, whatever the temptations.


Griezmann is experiencing one of his best seasons with Diego Simeone's squad, having scored 12 goals between the Spanish League and the Champions League so far.


The French international only needs 4 goals to surpass Luis Aragones and become the all-time top scorer for Atletico Madrid, having scored 169 goals in all tournaments over the course of his two spells with the capital club.


The 32-year-old is receiving interest from Saudi League clubs, in addition to reports linking him to a move to Manchester United.


Griezmann commented on this in statements to the newspaper Marca, saying, “I want to be an important player in Atletico. I want to become a legend in this club. I know that I have to do a lot for that.”


He also added, "I scored a lot of goals this year, but I want to win the Spanish League title. I need that. I have not won the title before, so it would be great to win it."


He continued, "The season is still long, and I have to work with all my strength and then see if I am lucky enough to win the title."


Atletico Madrid occupies fourth place in the La Liga standings after playing 12 matches, with 28 points, 6 points behind the current leader Girona.


It is noteworthy that Atletico Madrid has won the Spanish League twice in the last 10 years, and the first time Griezmann had not yet joined Atleti, the other time was one year after his departure to Barcelona.

0 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page