top of page

Gundogan answers clearly: Will he leave Barcelona to the Saudi League in January?


Ilkay Gundogan, Barcelona player

Ilkay Gundogan, the Barcelona player, ended the controversy surrounding his future, when he confirmed that he does not intend to leave the Catalan club in the upcoming winter transfer period, and stressed the incorrectness of what is being circulated about the presence of big offers for him from the Saudi and Turkish leagues.


The German star has been the focus of attention in recent weeks, specifically after he attacked his teammates after losing El Clasico, and some reports confirmed that he will move to one of the Saudi League teams, or the Turkish Galatasaray, next January.


Gundogan responded to these rumours, saying, "Maybe I should get used to such rumours. There is a lot of noise around me. Everything I do will be analyzed in some way."


He also added, "But of course, it takes some time to adapt to a new country, a new culture, a new city, new people, and a new way of playing football, but I am very happy where I am now."


He continued, "I am coping better, and I recently found a house and my family came here, so we are happy and feel valued here and are having a very good time as a family."


As for his statements after El Clásico, he said, “I cannot put myself in the place of others to know how they received my speech, but I spoke my opinion frankly and my intention was not to attack anyone or anything.”


"I criticized the team as a whole, and of course this includes me. I always criticize myself first and foremost. I believe I have the necessary experience in this profession, but above all I look at myself in the mirror and judge myself before others."


He continued, "I want us to play in the best possible way because I see a lot of potential in this team, and a lot of quality. I just want to do better every time."


He concluded, "Although we may win the next match with a score of 3-4 and 5-0, I will still see things that we can improve. Maybe this is also my way of life, or my mentality, but not with bad intentions or anything else."


It is noteworthy that Gundogan participated this season with Barcelona in 19 matches in all tournaments and succeeded in scoring one goal and assisting 5 others.

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page