top of page

Messi: I am not evil and I decided to punish Lewandowski in the World Cup for this reason

Updated: Dec 3, 2023


ليفاندوسكس رفقة ليونيل ميسي فى كأس العالم قطر

Lionel Messi, captain of the Argentine national team, revealed his extreme anger at Robert Lewandowski, who called on him to treat him badly during his country's match against Poland in the 2022 World Cup groups.


The reason for Messi's anger is due to the statements that Leva made when he was crowned with The Best award about his eligibility for the Ballon d'Or, which went to the Argentine in the 2021 edition.


The flea spoke in a documentary on the occasion of the one-year anniversary of Argentina’s 2022 World Cup win, and he mentioned the Poland match, saying, “What Lewandowski said after winning the Best Award bothered me, so I ignored him during the match.”


He also added, "I was very angry because he spoke in an unacceptable way, so I tried to confront him on the field and dodged him. Then we met and talked about the matter and he also expressed his anger to me because the press reported his speech inaccurately."


Messi touched on his move to Inter Miami, and revealed his awareness that he was playing at a lower level than usual, and continued, "Yes, my levels may be affected by playing in the American League."


He continued, "A lot of things happen for personal reasons, which is why I moved to the American League, even though it is less competitive."


He concluded, "I and those who love me suffered a lot. The criticism was harsh and unfair in Argentina, so I feel that winning the World Cup is a great victory for me. They said a lot of bad things about me that are not true. I am not evil at all."


It is noteworthy that the arrows of criticism continued to haunt Messi after his failure to win championships for the Argentine national team, but the Barcelona legend’s response came by achieving the 2021 Copa America, then the 2022 Qatar World Cup, and with it the reconciliation of all the fans of the land of silver.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page