top of page

Messi reveals his position on returning to Barcelona and from participating in the 2026 World cup



Inter Miami's Lionel Messi has announced that he will not move to any club during the upcoming winter transfer window and will remain normally with his American club until the return of football competitions.


Some reports have talked about the possibility of loaning Messi to Barcelona or one of the Saudi league clubs during the winter mercato and for two months to stop American football until next March.


Asked about this in an interview with L'Equipe, the world champion replied: "The door of European football is closed for me, thank God I had an exciting career in Europe and achieved everything I dreamed of."

"Now I've decided to come to America, I don't think I'll ever go back to playing in Europe. There is no chance of me moving to any club in Europe or abroad in the next period."

"I could have come back to Barcelona (last summer) but it didn't happen, it was frustrating for me like leaving in 2021," he said.


As for the 2026 World Cup and the possibility of him leading Argentina in it, "given my age at the time, it seems a bit difficult, but we'll see anyway."


Messi will be on the brink of forty years when Argentina try to defend the World Cup title in 2026 with the tournament to be held in America, Canada and Mexico.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page