top of page

Official.. Barcelona coach announces his departure at the end of the season

Updated: Dec 20, 2023


FC Barcelona logo

Barcelona women's coach Jonathan Geraldiz announced his departure from coaching the Catalan club at the end of this season.


Geraldiz revealed in a press conference the reason for his departure, as there was another tempting offer for him, despite Barcelona's desperate attempts to persuade him to continue in his position.


The coach said, "I informed the club a few days ago of my intention not to renew my contract. I thought that now was the appropriate time to tell everyone that instead of it happening at a crucial time in the season."


He also added, "I enjoyed a lot on a personal level in Barcelona, but my decision to leave was good for me on all levels. It is a difficult decision, but I think it is the best for me."


He concluded, "If I had been thinking about money, I would have left early. I thought about many things before deciding to leave. The offer that came to me from outside Europe, I am truly grateful to Barcelona."


32-year-old Geraldiz took over as Barcelona women's coach in 2021, and succeeded in winning the Spanish League twice, the Spanish Queen's Cup once, as well as the Champions League title last season.


The young coach is expected to move to coaching in the world's strongest women's soccer league, the American League.

6 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page