top of page

Xavi: I am confident of continuing with Barcelona, and the refereeing errors hurts us!



Barcelona coach Xavi Hernandez stressed that he is confident that he will continue to coach the Catalan club, noting that he clearly finds great support from Joan Laporta's administration that makes him not fear for his position.


Spanish newspapers have reported that Barcelona, despite its confidence in Xavi, is examining options to succeed him next season if he fails to achieve the desired results this season.


During the press conference for the Porto match in the Champions League, Xavi was asked about his future and answered in clear terms, “I feel that I am protected by the club. I talk to the president constantly, he and Deco (the sporting director), and they know how we work and I feel that I have their full trust.”


He also added, "I am confident that we will play well again and get positive results. If I did not have this belief, I would not be here."


As for the recent decline in results, he said, “I criticize players strongly in video lectures or in our conversations together. We have to demand a lot of ourselves and criticize them constantly.”


"We are used to it. There is a lot of pressure. You ask me the same questions in every press conference. The results will determine the season. We will play the Super Cup in a month and you will tell me the same thing. It is Barcelona and these are the pressures here."


Xavi concluded his speech by saying, "We have bad luck with the refereeing and this is not an excuse. We have to play better, but the refereeing errors also affect us. We are not lucky at all in this regard."


It is noteworthy that Barcelona enters the decisive match against Porto in the Champions League, days after a disappointing 1-1 draw against Rayo Vallecano, due to which the Catalans fell to fourth place in the Spanish League standings.

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page