top of page

Xavi: I would never think about resigning as Barcelona coach, and Valencia match is a “final”



Barcelona coach Xavi Hernandez stressed that he is calm and is not afraid of dismissal or resignation from his position, noting that he receives great support from Joan Laporta's administration despite the recent setbacks.


Barcelona is preparing for a difficult confrontation against Valencia at the Mestalla Stadium, which comes after two losses to Girona in the Spanish League and Antwerp in the Champions League, and amid much talk about multiple crises inside the locker rooms that threaten Xavi’s future.


The coach, in the press conference before the bat match, spoke about these matters, saying, “I do not want to fail with the club of my life, Barcelona.”


He also added, "My relationship with Deco is very special. I never think about resigning. I believe in our ability to have a good season. We can compete and achieve the four tournaments in which we participate."


He continued, "We have done well over the last two years. We are halfway to Barcelona's great comeback. This is what I am thinking about now."


He concluded his speech in this regard, "I am happy, I am calm, I trust my project more than ever before. This is the second time in my career that we have gone through a bad wave, but it will not affect us. I spoke with Deco and Laporta and we are all one man at heart."


As for the Valencia match itself, he said, "It is an important match for us in a very difficult stadium. It is like the final match. We will deal with the match this way."


He concluded, "If we lose or draw against Valencia, we will maintain our faith in the project. This club needs stability, especially after the Messi era and the complex economic situation. We are already champions of La Liga and the Super Cup."


Barcelona enters the match in fourth place in the Spanish League standings with 34 points, while Valencia comes in 11th place with only 19 points.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page