top of page

Pepe enters Champions League history in his own way



Pepe, the Porto defender, entered Champions League history with a unique record after his goal against Royal Antwerp on Wednesday.


While the Portuguese side were leading with one goal, Pepe scored the second goal in the 91st minute, and with it he wrote his own history.


That goal made Pepe the oldest player to score a goal in Champions League history at the age of 40 years and 254 days.


Italian football legend, Francesco Totti, was the previous record holder as the highest scoring, after scoring a goal at the age of thirty-eight with Roma in the Champions League in 2014.

After this great achievement, Pepe spoke to the media saying, "First of all, it's a very special day for me because it's my mother's birthday, and she told me that I will score a goal today."


"To play here at this age is a great thing that needs hard work, sacrifice and a great passion for football."


"It was one of my dreams to be a footballer, I know I have a little before I retire, but I will give Porto my best every day."


It is noteworthy that Pepe participated for the first time in the Champions League in the 2004-2005 season with Porto, and since then he played 118 games with the Portuguese club, Real Madrid and Besiktas in the competition, and also achieved its title on 3 occasions with the Spanish club.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page