top of page

Salah: Winning the African Cup of Nations is my next goal



Mohamed Salah, the Liverpool player, stressed that his next goal is to win the 2023 African Cup of Nations title with the Egyptian national team.


Salah played three editions of the Nations Cup with his country, reaching the final and losing it twice (2017 to Cameroon and 2021 to Senegal) and was eliminated in the round of 16 in the 2019 Egypt edition against South Africa.


Despite the great numbers that Salah achieved with the Egyptian national team and his leadership of the Pharaohs to their first appearance in the World Cup after an absence of 28 years, he remains without international titles so far.


After the match between Liverpool and Newcastle, Salah spoke about his participation in the African Nations, saying, “I will go to achieve the title because I want to. This is not a given, but I will try.”


Salah missed a penalty kick in the Newcastle match in the first half, and justified this by saying, “I trained on the night of the match with the shoes in which I missed the penalty kick. I am not a superstitious person, but when I felt that the matter would affect my concentration, I changed the shoes.”


He also added, "I was distracted in the first penalty kick because the Newcastle goalkeeping coach pointed at Dubravka at a certain angle, but in the second kick I did what I always do in training."

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page